Documenting nature in the Amazon through photographs and sketches

ants!

On the last visit to the Bosque da Ciencia of INPA (about a month ago), I saw some ants new to me. I think one belongs to the genus Dolichoderus, which are usually associated with honeydew producing insects and, based on a post on the Myrmecos blog, I believe it is the “long-necked ant of the Amazon” Dolichoderus attelaboides.

Bosque da Ciencia, INPA, Manaus
Bosque da Ciencia, INPA, Manaus
Bosque da Ciencia, INPA, Manaus

And when we were heading out, I saw another interesting ant, also new to me.  Daceton armigerum, classified as one of the most beautiful ants in the Myrmecos blogDaceton armigerum has a nice honey coloration and a heart-shaped head with large jaws which caught my attention. Although I didn’t find them in the canopy where they are known to be found, they were in the ground with other species of ant, much smaller, which I still haven’t been able to identify.

Daceton armigerum
Bosque da Ciencia, INPA, Manaus

Bosque da Ciencia, INPA, Manaus

Daceton armigerum

Bosque da Ciencia, INPA, Manaus

Daceton & little ant

Bosque da Ciencia, INPA, Manaus

Bosque da Ciencia, INPA, Manaus

2 responses

  1. Hanny

    Muy interesante y tienes excelentes fotos en todo tu blog! Felicidades! 🙂

    26/07/2011 at 12:41 pm

Leave a Reply

